The Dilemmas within Facial Scrubs & Washes

So over the years, I’ve visited my local Superdrug store more than enough times to count. With most of the products I’ve bought, I’ve always researched around before purchasing it. Then after successfully using it a good few times, I fall in love with it, and never change brands again.

However, one thing I’ve never been able to get over is the number and variety of facial washes out there in the market. Clean&Clear, Neutrogena and even the store’s own brands have been constantly developing new scrubs for different face conditions. Whether it be the blackheads, whiteheads, acne and spots., whatever the problem, there seems to be baskets of different products for them!

I won’t list ALL of the facial scrubs and face washes I’ve tried, but I’ll just mention my famous few, and update once I’ve actually found the perfect one for me.

Clean and Clear: Deep Action, Cream Wash (RRP £3.49)

image3

This product is strong. It’s like taking a really strong mint, but in cream-form onto your face. I bought this a good year ago, and used it a few times before leaving it to the side, then coming back to it a few months afterwards. The first time I used it, my face broke out quite strongly – but in a good way since it all cleared up within a week whilst using it daily. I guess, if you really need something to wake you up really early in the morning, this is for you; but in all honesty, if you’re in need of a really strong detox, this is probably the one for you. It really feels like someone has thrown cold water onto your face.

However, top tip? Try it out in small parts of your face first. For example, try one cheek first incase you feel like it’s too strong for you. Conclusion? It does definitely get the job done, but it might feel like it stings a bit the first time but if it works it works right?

Neutrogena: Visibly Clear, Pink Grapefruit Daily Scrub (RRP £4.95)/Garnier Pure Active Anti-Blackhead Deep Pore Wash (RRP …no idea, can’t find it online again sorry!)

image4 image2

Neutrogena, Visibly Clear: For the Neutrogena (pink bottle), I have to say this was probably one of the most disappointing products for me. I had seen a few friends use it so I decided to buy it – though I probably should have asked them whether they thought it was good/not before I actually spent £4+ on it. I took it to HK with me, and all I could say that although it smelt awesome, it definitely didn’t help stop blemishes – tbqh, it just feels a bit weird on your skin, and made my face feel really dried out too.

Garnier Pure Active: This was definitely a surprising good product for me. I know I definitely didn’t pay more than £4 for this product in Superdrug, but I can’t actually remember exactly how much I paid for it. I bought it about three months ago, and have been using it daily ever since. Why? Because it seems to get rid of my blackheads really quickly – and it doesn’t smell weird – which is definitely a plus for your nose. It isn’t lumpy, and it’s texture makes it really easy to wash out.

Update: I actually forgot to bring the Garnier Anti-blackhead Wash with me to Canada…now I’ll have to find the next alternative to it in the drugstores here in BC (it’ll definitely be regrettably more expensive)!

Clean & Clear: Blackhead Clearing, Daily Scrub (£3.99)

image1

This. Is. Definitely. My. Favourite. However, I don’t actually use it daily because sometimes I feel like it can be a bit too rough for the skin. Using it twice every week usually does the job! It gets rid of blackheads really quickly, and smells quite awesome too. It is a scrub, and it’s little bits (as shown in the photo above), are bright blue – you can’t miss them! Make sure, however, that you wash it really thoroughly off of your face, and then apply a layer of light moisturising cream so that it doesn’t dry out your skin too much. I’ve also found that using about three pea sizes of the scrub is more than enough. Make sure you really rub it into your skin without being too rough on it. It’ll work wonders on your face!

Well, as I mentioned before, I forgot to actually bring half of my face care products to Canada with me, and so my search within Canadian drugstores for the best face scrub/wash begins! Let’s hope it goes well!

Wishes,

Natalie

PS. Sorry for the lack of updates on both blogs – if you follow me on Twitter, you’ll already know; but if you don’t, be sure to subscribe to find out more about why I’ve been THIS quiet later this week!

2 thoughts on “The Dilemmas within Facial Scrubs & Washes

Leave a Reply

